Multiple stopwatches with same external control

All discussions here

Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby robertcoach » Wed Jul 02, 2014 5:15 pm

Hi

How to use muliple stopwatches and use the same com port for all stopwatches to start (from the gun) all stopwatches at the same time?

Thanks
robertcoach
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:36 pm

Re: Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby Stopwatch » Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:36 pm

Sorry, different processes unable to share the same COM port. Another XNote Stopwatch as External time source would help but it is not implemented yet.
Stopwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby robertcoach » Wed Jul 02, 2014 10:22 pm

That will be great, the idea is to use the gun to start the race and one stopwach per lanes. Use manual hotkeys to stop the time with a specific hotkeys for each lanes. That way, we can have Excel file with the time for each lanes. That is a lot more accurate than manuel start. Do you have an other way to do that?
robertcoach
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:36 pm

Re: Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby Stopwatch » Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:16 am

robertcoach wrote:Do you have an other way to do that?

Only with many USB to COM.
Stopwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby robertcoach » Mon Jul 14, 2014 6:07 pm

I tried a few software that share serial port and it works. Now I been trying com0com and Hub4com to get a free solution but I can find the setting that work.
Anyone ?
com0com create virtual serial port that xnote can be set on. Hub4com make the link between those virtual ports.
robertcoach
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:36 pm

Re: Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby Stopwatch » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:15 pm

Most likely they do not support direct RTS-CTS DTR-DSR manipulations. Even not every USB to COM does.
Stopwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby robertcoach » Tue Jul 15, 2014 3:31 pm

I'm still working on it. on the default parameter for all ports is :
baud=19200, data=8, parity=no, stop=1, octs=on, odsr=off, ox=off, ix=off, idsr=off, ito=0

is there one or some parameters that should be different to work?
robertcoach
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:36 pm

Re: Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby Stopwatch » Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:36 pm

robertcoach wrote:is there one or some parameters that should be different to work?

No. These parameters does not matter at all. Contact developers in regard to whether their software share control lines too.
Stopwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby robertcoach » Fri Jul 18, 2014 2:19 pm

Hi goog new I got it working, one port to start many stopwatch. I use com0com and hub4com . With the setup, I add many virtual pairs in com0com. I change the left side for a typical com name and kept the right side like it showup at first. I use hub4com to make the connection com4 is my gun start the command I'm using is:
hub4com --create-filter=pinmap --add-filters=all:pinmap --baud=9600 --octs=off --bi-route=all:all \\.\COM4 \\.\cncb0 \\.\Cncb1 \\.\cncb2 \\.\cncb3
robertcoach
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:36 pm

Re: Multiple stopwatches with same external control

Unread postby robertcoach » Tue Aug 05, 2014 6:41 pm

to make it simple: hub4com --create-filter=pinmap --add-filters=all:pinmap \\.\COM4 \\.\cncb0 \\.\Cncb1 \\.\cncb2 \\.\cncb3 \\.\cncb4 \\.\cncb5 \\.\cncb6 \\.\cncb7

This is for 8 virtual port connected to com4.
robertcoach
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:36 pm


Return to Main forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron