"Raise a signal on port problem"

All discussions here

"Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby djwzak » Fri May 29, 2009 2:57 pm

Hi and congratulations for your software :)

I have the evaluation version and the "Raise a signal on port" feature doesn't seem to do something. Do I need to register for this function?
I checked all the ports with a digital meter, but I didn't find any variation in voltage.
What voltage has the raised signal and for how long it is raised?

P.S
Let's say I want to put a led when the timer reaches zero, which ports exactly should I use?


Thank you in advance! :D
djwzak
 

Re: "Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby Stopwatch » Fri May 29, 2009 6:10 pm

djwzak wrote:Hi and congratulations for your software :)
I have the evaluation version and the "Raise a signal on port" feature doesn't seem to do something. Do I need to register for this function?

No, it is available in trial too.

djwzak wrote:I checked all the ports with a digital meter, but I didn't find any variation in voltage.
What voltage has the raised signal and for how long it is raised?

As stated at http://www.xnotestopwatch.com/help/coun ... ptions.htm voltage is changed to -5..-25 volts at 7 and 4 pins of DB-9.

djwzak wrote:P.S
Let's say I want to put a led when the timer reaches zero, which ports exactly should I use?

You select COM ports yourself. Check whether it is functional at all. What USB2COM adapter you are using?
Stopwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: "Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby djwzak » Fri May 29, 2009 6:54 pm

I'm using COM1 from motherboard, it's a new pc, not old :)

Sorry my bad... what I meant is: Let's say I want to put a led when the timer reaches zero, which PINS exactly should I use?

Yes I've read this help topic about -5..-25V but nothing of that happened... I'll do tonight a few more checks.

Thank you for the fast answers :)
I'll keep you informed for my progress :)
djwzak
 

Re: "Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby Stopwatch » Fri May 29, 2009 7:29 pm

djwzak wrote:Sorry my bad... what I meant is: Let's say I want to put a led when the timer reaches zero, which PINS exactly should I use?

4-5 or 7-5. 5 is a ground pin, 4 and 7 are signal pins.
Stopwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: "Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby djwzak » Sun May 31, 2009 12:17 am

Creator wrote:4-5 or 7-5. 5 is a ground pin, 4 and 7 are signal pins.


I tried these combinations but nothing...
I also tried almost every possibly pin combination, but nothing changes when the timer reaches zero...

For how long does this "raise" take place? msecs or secs ?
If it is msecs, then maybe my multimeter cannot read it...
djwzak
 

Re: "Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby Stopwatch » Sun May 31, 2009 11:01 am

djwzak wrote:For how long does this "raise" take place? msecs or secs ?
If it is msecs, then maybe my multimeter cannot read it...

Until reset. Also there is a Test button and Reset signal will appear to lower.
Try under another PC. I have just tested official release and it functions well.
Stopwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: "Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby djwzak » Tue Jun 02, 2009 1:10 am

Well, I tried it in another PC with 2 x COMs and the "problem" revealed:

When I use a COM external control, I cannot use the same port for "raise a signal on port", but since no message appears for this "error", I couldn't figure out what happens. :)

Can't you use other pins for "signal raise", so that we don't have the need for use another one COM port? :)

Thank you
djwzak
 

Re: "Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby Stopwatch » Wed Jun 03, 2009 10:11 am

djwzak wrote:When I use a COM external control, I cannot use the same port for "raise a signal on port", but since no message appears for this "error", I couldn't figure out what happens. :)

You might be observing voltages anyway!

djwzak wrote:Can't you use other pins for "signal raise", so that we don't have the need for use another one COM port? :)

There are no other pins. Only RTS and DTR are available to manipulate.
I have done a little modification which allows to raise RTS whether "external control" is on or off. Since the RTS is gone you must apply DTR to both DSR and CTS to function "external control" as earlier.

xnsw.zip
External control and Raise signal combined on the same port.
(145.97 KiB) Downloaded 1179 times
Stopwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:25 pm

Re: "Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby djwzak » Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:10 am

Goodmorning and sorry for the absence!

This version works great, DTR & DSR are for start/stop and RTS & CTS are for "raise signal" only, in timer mode.

One thing only: I was using the version "Start/Stop hold Reset Beta2" (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=433) so I miss that :) It is very very handy!
Can you implement it too in this version?

Thank you in advance!
djwzak
 

Re: "Raise a signal on port problem"

Unread postby Stopwatch » Thu Jun 25, 2009 5:43 pm

djwzak wrote:This version works great, DTR & DSR are for start/stop and RTS & CTS are for "raise signal" only, in timer mode.

One thing only: I was using the version "Start/Stop hold Reset Beta2" (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=433) so I miss that :) It is very very handy!
Can you implement it too in this version?

Try this.

xnsw.zip
External control and Raise signal combined on the same port.
Start/Stop hold for 5 sec to Reset.
(146 KiB) Downloaded 1191 times
Stopwatch
Site Admin
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:25 pm


Return to Main forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron